AWRA Water Blog

AWRA Awards Six Scholarships Totaling $7000

2016-17 AWRA Richard A. Herbert Memorial Scholarship winners (l to r) Molly Tedesche, Elizabeth Jachens and Morgan DiCarlo.

2016-17 AWRA Richard A. Herbert Memorial Scholarship winners (l to r) Molly Tedesche, Elizabeth Jachens and Morgan DiCarlo.

AWRA is pleased to announce the recipients of our 2016-17 Richard A. Herbert Memorial Scholarship Fund awards. Considered by AWRA and our members to be one of the organization’s greatest accomplishments, the scholarship fund, established in 1980, has helped more than 50 students continue with their studies in water resources management.

Application packets for 2017-2018 may be submitted starting in January 2016. For more information on our scholarship program email

The 2016-17 AWRA Richard A. Herbert Memorial Scholarship Fund winners are:

Molly Tedesche, 2016-2017 recipient of the Graduate (Ph.D.) Student Award ($2,000)
Molly is an engineering PhD student at the University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) studying Snow Hydrology and Hydro-Climatology. She is also completing a Graduate Certificate in Science Teaching and Outreach at UAF, and is affiliated with UAF’s International Arctic Research Center and Water and Environmental Research Center. She is an active student member of the Alaska State Section of AWRA, and President of the Northern Alaska Regional Chapter of the state section.

In her own words, “The reason that I became a hydrologist, and that I wish to pursue a career in hydrology, engineering, and snow hydrology, is that ultimately, I believe the study of water can help us find answers to important questions that will help people.”

Elizabeth Jachens, 2016-2017 recipient of the Graduate (M.S.) Student Award ($2,000)
Elizabeth is currently pursuing an interdisciplinary degree in Water Resources Engineering as a master’s candidate at Oregon State University.   Her thesis subject is hydrologic responses to changes in precipitation in the Oregon Cascades, with a focus on whether younger volcanic systems are more resilient to changing precipitation caused by climate change.  She is also participating in the Trans African Hydro Meteorological Observatory (TAHMO) project–a foundation focusing on climate research, hydro-meteorological sensor design, and providing science education to students by creating a network of weather stations across the African continent.

In her own words, “These experiences have given me personal growth by improving my communication skills, increased my networking skills and given me the opportunity to meet so many fascinating people, be part of a team, be a role model, learn new skills, fuel my curiosity, and value the world and people around me. I hope to continue this during my Master’s thesis and into my career.”

Morgan Dicarlo, 2016-2017 recipient of the Undergraduate Student Award ($2,000)
Morgan is a Civil Engineering student in the Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Program at Stony Brook University.  She chose this program because of the opportunity to be a member of the inaugural class, and to play a role in building the program.  During her first year, she founded the Stony Brook Chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), and was recognized with the 2016 National ASCE Student Leader of the Year award. She was also recognized by ASCE as one of their 2015 New Faces of Civil Engineering, Collegiate Edition.  Her senior thesis is focused on the development of on-site wastewater treatment technology for nitrogen removal. The technologies proposed through this project will be piloted at the Long Island Nature Conservancy as a public educational tool to exemplify better wastewater practices.  Her independent research proposal titled Capitalizing on the Internet of Things to Promote Water Conservation won the Best Student submission to the 2016 ASCE Innovation Contest.

In her own words, “I am acting on my potential as a researcher by pursuing an advanced degree in water resources.  This scholarship will support my graduate study in Water Resources Engineering at Virginia Tech, starting Fall 2016.”

Due to the overwhelming generosity of AWRA members, the Board of Directors and Scholarship Committee are pleased to announce three ancillary scholarships. Recipients are:

  • Dorothea Lundberg, University of Maryland, College Park – Ph.D. Student
  • Lindsey Marie Aldaco-Manner, Texas A&M University – M.S. Student
  • Ariel Blanton, Clayton State University – Undergraduate Student

If you would like to show your support for our next generation of water resources managers, please consider making a donation to our scholarship program. You do not need to be a member of AWRA to donate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *