AWRA Water Blog

Three Finalists Selected for JAWRA’s 2017 William R. Boggess Award

The editorial  board of the Journal of the American Water Resources Association (JAWRA) has selected three finalists for the 2017 William R. Boggess Award. The Boggess Award is given to the author or authors of the paper, published in the JAWRA during the preceding year, that best describes, delineates, or analyzes a major problem or aspect of water resources from either a theoretical, applied, or philosophical standpoint. Established in 1973, the Award honors William R. “Randy” Boggess, a member of AWRA, one of the first Directors, and a former President of the Association, who has also made significant contributions to AWRA as an Editor of JAWRA. The finalists are:

  • Castro, A.J., C.C. Vaughn, J.P. Julian, and M. Garcia-Llorente, 2016. Social Demand for Ecosystem Services and Implications for Watershed Management. JAWRA 52(1):209-221, DOI: 10.1111/1752-1688.12379. View abstract.
  • Hendrickx, J.M.H., R.G. Allen, A. Brower, A.R. Byrd, S. Hong, F.L. Ogden, N. R. Pradhan, C.W. Robison, D. Toll, R. Trezza, T.G. Unstot, and J.L. Wilson, 2016.  Benchmarking Optical/Thermal Satellite Imagery for Estimating Evapotranspiration and Soil Moisture in Decision Support Tools. JAWRA 52(1):89-119, DOI: 10.1111/1752-1688.1237. View abstract.
  • Snow, A.D., S.D. Christensen, N.R. Swain, E.J. Nelson, D.P. Ames, N.L. Jones, D. Ding, N.S. Noman, C.H. David, F. Pappenberger, and E. Zsoter, 2016. A High-Resolution National-Scale Hydrologic Forecast System from a Global Ensemble Land Surface Model. JAWRA 52(4):950-964, DOI: 10.1111/1752-1688.12434. View abstract.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *